City Council

 About the City Council

The City Council consists of five (5) members, elected by the City at-large, who serve four year staggered terms.  After each election, the City Council appoints a Mayor and a Vice-Mayor from its own membership to serve a two year term.   The Mayor is responsible for presiding over City Council meetings, representing the City Council at various business and ceremonial events, and executing all ordinances, resolutions and contracts.   The Vice-Mayor performs these duties in the absence of the Mayor. 

As a legislative body, the City Council is responsible for the enactment of local laws (ordinances), the adoption of the City’s annual Operating and Capital Budget, review and adoption of proposed policies, agreements, contracts and other City business items.  The City Council also sits as the governing board for the Succssor Agency to the Blythe Redevelopment Agency.

The City Council can be contacted through the City Clerk, whose office is located at City Hall, 235 North Broadway, Blythe, CA 92225. 

The City Council meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m. in the Council Chambers, located at Blythe City Hall, 235 N. Broadway, Blythe, CA 92225.

Any person wishing to address the City Council on any matter, whether or not it appears on the Agenda, may do so under the “Public Comment” portion of the Agenda.  Each individual is allowed three minutes to address Council.  No action is taken on any items that are not on the Agenda.